Sailing with Star Clipper through the paradise Andaman Sea

-

StartCruiseSailing with Star Clipper through the paradise Andaman Sea

"Midship" echoes across the upper deck as the sails flap loosely in the wind. Captain Sergey Tunikov adjusts his RayBan sunglasses and squints into the sun. So do almost all the passengers watching the anchor being raised. The helmsman repeats the command, "Midship Captain!" Slowly, the Star Clipper turns into the wind and picks up speed. The four-master is on its way to its first destination, the Thai island of Ko Butang.

First sea rescue exercise, then Tropical Bar

Star Clipper - Andaman Sea-151725
Start and finish of the tour with the Star Clipper is the port of Pattong on the island of Phuket. (Photos: Jörg Baldin)

Until then, there are still around 100 nautical miles (about 185 kilometers) ahead of us, which the ship will cover under full sail and without engine power. But before the guests can relax at the "Tropical Bar," it's the turn of the sea rescue drill, which is mandatory for all guests, regardless of whether you've sailed with the ship a hundred times or never before. "This is for your own safety," says Cruise Director Peter Kissner in a heavy Bavarian accent. It's a voice you'll hear regularly over the next week. He is responsible for the guests on board and provides the 150 or so passengers on board with regular information about the trip and the itinerary.

The uninhabited island of Ko Butang is located just north of the Malay coast and is part of Thailand's Tarutaro National Park. The island is relatively unknown. Only sailors and some speedboats stray to the very beautiful beaches of the small island. By the way, the Star Clipper is one of the few larger boats that are allowed to sail and anchor here in the national park. The reason for this is a visit of the royal family on the four-master a few years ago. "The king's sister traveled with us twice and saw how important it is for us to treat nature," says Cruise Director Kissner. "Since then, our cruise line has been allowed to sail here."

Only biodegradable straws on board

Great attention is paid to environmental protection on board. So there are only straws that are biodegradable. Recyclable tableware is used at the beach barbecue, and the ship sails as often as it can. "On average, we use two tons of diesel per day to generate the necessary electricity on board" says Peter Kissner. "Large ships use an average of 57 tons of diesel per day."

The electricity generated by the engines is mainly needed for the kitchen and the production of drinking water. "We use 55 tons of water per day," the cruise director continues. "We produce that amount ourselves every day from seawater." It is not without reason that the Star Clippers shipping company has been named "World's Leading Green Cruise Line" six times. As a rule, the engines are only started for mooring or anchoring.

Captain Sergey Tunikov is in command

Back to the route. The ship reaches the archipelago of Ko Butang around 12 noon. Captain Tunikov has taken command on the open bridge and drops anchor directly in front of the island. About 30 minutes later, passengers can go ashore by tender boat. Those who want to can rent a kayak, stand-up paddle or sailboat that the sports team has brought ashore in the meantime. At 5 p.m. the last tender boat returns to the ship. One hour later, the Star Clipper sets course for Penang Island in Malaysia.

We reach the port of George Town on Penang early in the morning around 7 am. It is the only time on the trip that we moor in the harbor and leave Thailand. George Town is the second largest city in Malaysia and was founded by Francis Light in 1796. The town has a historic center with "shophouses" that date from the 19th or early 20th century. The architecture of these houses, called "Straits Ecletic," has European, Arabic, Chinese, Indian and Malay influences. Penang was the first British settlement on the Straits of Malacca. By 5:30 p.m., all passengers must be back on board. Captain Tunikov has the anchor raised at 5:45 p.m. and sets course for Ko Andang. There are 115 nautical miles ahead of us.

Hardly any people live on the islands of Tarutao National Park

Ko Andang, like Ko Butang, is also part of the Tarutao National Park, which consists of 51 islands. The main island Ko Ta Ru Tao is the largest island of the group and is located only eight kilometers from Landkawi in Malaysia. The park was the first National Marine Park in Thailand and offers numerous waterfalls, winding river courses, caves and a variety of protected animals. One reason for this is certainly that hardly any people live on the islands and only three islands can be reached by boat.

Again, there will be a tender boat service between the island and the sailing ship. If you feel like it, you can take a longtail boat to the island of Ko Lipe, which is one of the inhabited islands in the group. Ko Lipe is about a 30-minute drive away and, in addition to numerous restaurants and cafes, also offers two great beaches. However, significantly more crowded beaches than Ko Andang.

Ko Rok Nok is the most beautiful island of the whole tour

At 6 pm the Star Clipper turns back into the wind and sets course for Ko Rok Nok island, heading for Lanta National Park. The most beautiful island of the tour, as most guests on board think. Around eight o'clock in the morning we anchor off Ko Rok Nok, which can only be visited in good weather. However, if you make it to the white sandy beach, you are in paradise: crystal clear water, a small coral garden that becomes clearly visible at low tide and a very nice empty beach. This time, unfortunately, the last tender boat goes back already at 15:30.

The next morning we reach the world famous Ao Phang Nga Bay, which was declared a national park in 1981. In the bay, steep limestone cliffs rise from the sea, overgrown with tropical plants. On or in the rocks you can find dark caves and grottos, some of which are decorated with huge stalactites. A beautiful sight, which unfortunately was discovered by the film industry and then tourism. The James Bond classic "The Man with the Golden Gun" was filmed here, which still attracts thousands of tourists per day. All of them are brought by boats to the small island, which is full of stalls. An absurd sight when you are actually in paradise.

Ko Similan was hit hard by the tsunami in 2004

The last island we visit on the trip is Ko Similan, which belongs to the Mu Ko Similan Marine National Park. The archipelago was uninhabited until the 80s. He when tourism brought the region more into focus, first came the fishermen and then the tourists. Both led to the numerous coral reefs being damaged or destroyed to such an extent that the Thai government made it a national park in 1982. Fishing around the islands was prohibited and the park was closed from May to October. In 2004, many reefs of the archipelago were destroyed by the tsunami.

Star Clipper - Andaman Sea
Small but nice! Ko Similan beach is very paradisiacal when most tourists have left the island. (Photo: яна винникова )

If you want to go to Ko Similan, you should go to the island as early as possible, because from 11 o'clock some speedboats approach the island, which are mainly filled with numerous Asian vacationers and make the relatively small beach section quickly seem crowded. From 2:30 p.m. the hustle and bustle on the beach slowly decreases again and around 3 p.m. you have the beach to yourself. At 5:30 p.m., the last tender boat collects the guests and returns to the ship, where most passengers are already preparing for departure the next morning. A week in the Andaman Sea is coming to an end. And with it a week of pure relaxation, mostly in paradise and on a fantastic ship.

More info about the trip with Star Clipper

The voyage "Southeast Asia / Southern Route" with the Star Clipper starts in Phuket. The journey to Phuket takes place e.g. via Bangkok with Thai Airways or Lufthansa. For more information, please visit the website of Star Clippers.

Jörg Baldin
Jörg Baldinhttps://www.breitengrad53.de
Jörg Baldin is the founder and editor-in-chief of breitengrad53.de. In 2011 he turned his passion into his profession and put this travel magazine online for the first time. As a globetrotter, Jörg is at home everywhere in the world and loves nature, the sea and beautiful sunsets on the beach.

Our latest articles

Valencia: from tapas to haute cuisine

Valencia is located on the east coast of Spain, directly on the Mediterranean Sea. It includes the three provinces of Castelleón and Alicante. The famous Costa Blanca also belongs to this region. The splendid city on the river Turia has well deserved its name Valencia, the strong one. Because the struggle with very frequent floods for centuries, was only ended in the 20th century.

With the Costa Fortuna to the Lofoten Islands

Steep mountains, deep green valleys and crystal-clear waters ranging from light turquoise to dark blue: the world of Norwegian fjords and archipelagos is an impressive cruising ground where there is something new to discover on every voyage. During a Norway cruise, the chain of highlights does not break. The landscape of the thousand-island kingdom changes around every bend.

Northern Poland - 56 tips off the beaten track

Germany's eastern neighbor benefits from its great diversity as a year-round travel destination - especially the northern regions. Here, in addition to the Baltic Sea coast, thousands of lakes and extensive forest areas, there are even hills suitable for skiing. A new travel book tells about it and reveals the most beautiful cycling and hiking trails, paddling rivers, castles, villages, towns.

Bicycle vacation "on prescription

Not only since Corona have bicycle tours enjoyed increasing popularity. And what makes a cycling trip, which already provides plenty of exercise and fresh air, even healthier? Cycling vacations "on prescription", combined with autogenic training and a course in healthy eating. Best of all, most health insurers give a subsidy of 150 euros if you apply for it in advance.

Follow us

7,782FansI like
18,856FollowersFollow
3,318FollowersFollow

MOST READ

WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner

Mit der Star Clipper segelnd durch das Paradies Andaman Sea
M

„Midship“ hallt es über das Oberdeck, während die Segel lose im Wind flattern. Kapitän Sergey Tunikov rückt seine RayBan-Sonnenbrille zurecht und blinzelt in die Sonne. So wie fast alle Passagiere, die das Hochholen des Ankers beobachten. Der Steuermann wiederholt das Kommando: „Midship Captain!“ Langsam dreht sich die Star Clipper in den Wind und nimmt Fahrt auf. Der Viermaster ist auf dem Weg zum ersten Ziel, der thailändischen Insel Ko Butang.

Erst Seenotrettungsübung, dann Tropical Bar

Star Clipper - Andaman Sea-151725
Start und Ziel der Tour mit der Star Clipper ist der Hafen von Pattong auf der Insel Phuket. (Fotos: Jörg Baldin)

Bis dahin liegen noch rund 100 Seemeilen (etwa 185 Kilometer) vor uns, die das Schiff unter vollen Segeln und ohne Motorkraft zurücklegt. Doch bevor sich die Gäste entspannt an der „Tropical Bar“ einfinden können, ist die Seenotrettungsübung an der Reihe, die für alle Gäste verpflichtend ist, egal ob man schon hundertmal mit dem Schiff gesegelt ist oder noch nie. „Das ist für eure eigene Sicherheit“, sagt Cruise Director Peter Kissner mit stark bayerischem Akzent. Eine Stimme, die man in der kommenden Woche regelmäßig hört. Er ist verantwortlich für die Gäste an Bord und versorgt die rund 150 Passagiere an Bord mit regelmäßigen Informationen zur Reise und zum Reiseverlauf.

Die unbewohnte Insel Ko Butang liegt etwas nördlich der malaiischen Küste und gehört zum thailändischen Tarutaro National Park. Die Insel ist verhältnismäßig unbekannt. Lediglich Segler und einige Speedboote verirren sich an die sehr schönen Strände der kleinen Insel. Die Star Clipper ist übrigens eines der wenigen größeren Boote, die hier im Nationalpark fahren und ankern dürfen. Grund dafür ist ein Besuch der königlichen Familie auf dem Viermaster vor einigen Jahren. „Die Schwester des Königs ist zweimal mit uns gereist und hat gesehen, wie wichtig uns der Umgang mit der Natur ist“, sagt Cruise Director Kissner. „Seitdem darf unsere Reederei hier fahren.“

An Bord gibt’s nur biologisch abbaubare Strohhalme

Auf Umweltschutz wird an Bord sehr geachtet. So gibt es nur Strohhalme, die biologisch abbaubar sind. Beim Beach-Barbecue wird wiederverwertbares Geschirr genutzt und das Schiff segelt so oft es geht. „Im Schnitt verbrauchen wir zwei Tonnen Diesel pro Tag, um den notwendigen Strom an Bord zu erzeugen“ so Peter Kissner. „Auf großen Schiffen werden im Schnitt 57 Tonnen Diesel pro Tag benötigt.“

Der Strom, der mit den Motoren generiert wird, wird vor allem für die Küche und die Herstellung von Trinkwasser benötigt. „Wir verbrauchen pro Tag 55 Tonnen Wasser“, erklärt der Cruise Director weiter. „Die Menge produzieren wir jeden Tag selbst aus dem Meerwasser.“ Nicht ohne Grund wurde die Reederei Star Clippers sechs Mal als „World’s Leading Green Cruise Line“ ausgezeichnet. Angelassen werden die Motoren in der Regel nur zum Anlegen oder zum Ankern.

Kapitän Sergey Tunikov hat das Kommando

Zurück zur Route. Die Inselgruppe von Ko Butang erreicht das Schiff gegen 12 Uhr mittags. Kapitän Tunikov hat das Kommando auf der offenen Brücke übernommen und lässt direkt vor der Insel den Anker werfen. Etwa 30 Minuten später können die Passagiere per Tenderboot an Land fahren. Wer Lust hat, kann sich ein Kajak, Stand-Up-Paddle oder Segelboot ausleihen, dass das Sport-Team in der Zwischenzeit an Land gebracht hat. Um 17 Uhr fährt das letzte Tender-Boot zurück zum Schiff. Eine Stunde später nimmt die Star Clipper Kurs auf die Insel Penang in Malaysia

Den Hafen von George Town auf Penang erreichen wir früh morgens gegen 7 Uhr. Es ist das einzige Mal auf der Reise, dass wir im Hafen festmachen und Thailand verlassen. George Town ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Malaysias und wurde 1796 von Francis Light gegründet. Die Stadt hat ein historisches Zentrum mit „Shophouses“, die aus dem 19. oder frühen 20. Jahrhundert stammen. Die Architektur dieser „Straits Ecletic“ genannten Häuser weist europäische, arabische, chinesische, indische und malaiische Einflüsse auf. Penang war die erste britische Siedlung an der Straße von Malacca. Gegen 17.30 Uhr müssen alle Passagiere wieder an Bord sein. Kapitän Tunikov lässt um 17.45 Uhr den Anker hochholen und nimmt Kurs auf Ko Andang. Vor uns liegen 115 Seemeilen.

Auf den Inseln des Tarutao-Nationalpark leben kaum Menschen

Ko Andang gehört, wie Ko Butang, ebenfalls zum Tarutao-Nationalpark, der aus 51 Inseln besteht. Die Hauptinsel Ko Ta Ru Tao ist dabei die größte Insel der Gruppe und befindet sich nur acht Kilometer von Landkawi in Malysia antfernt. Der Park war der erste National Marine Park in Thailand und bietet zahlreiche Wasserfälle, verschlungene Flussläufe, Höhlen und eine Vielzahl geschützter Tiere. Ein Grund dafür ist sicher, dass kaum Menschen auf den Inseln leben und nur drei Inseln mit einer Bootsverbindung angelaufen werden können.

Auch hier wird wieder ein Tender-Boot-Verkehr zwischen Insel und Segelschiff eingerichtet. Wer Lust hat, kann mit einem Longtail-Boot auf die Insel Ko Lipe fahren, die zu den bewohnten Inseln der Gruppe gehört. Ko Lipe liegt etwa 30 Minuten Fahrtzeit entfernt und neben zahlreichen Restaurants und Cafés auch zwei tolle Strände bietet. Allerdings deutliche vollere Strände als Ko Andang.

Ko Rok Nok ist die schönste Insel der ganzen Tour

Um 18 Uhr dreht die Star Clipper wieder in den Wind und nimmt Kurs auf die Insel Ko Rok Nok, die zum Lanta National Park fahren. Die schönste Insel der Tour, wie die meisten Gäste an Bord finden. Gegen acht Uhr morgens ankern wir vor Ko Rok Nok, die nur bei gutem Wetter angelaufen werden kann. Wer es allerdings an den weißen Sandstrand schafft, hat das Paradies vor Augen: Kristallklares Wasser, ein kleiner Korallengarten, der bei Ebbe deutlich sichtbar wird und einen sehr schönen leeren Strand. Diesmal geht das letzte Tender-Boot leider schon um 15.30 Uhr zurück.

Am nächsten Morgen erreichen wir die weltberühmte Bucht Ao Phang Nga, die 1981 zum Nationalpark erklärt wurde. In der Bucht ragen steile Kalkfelsen aus dem Meer, die mit tropischen Pflanzen bewachsen sind. An oder in den Felsen findet man dunkle Höhlen und Grotten, die zum Teil mit riesigen Stalaktiten dekoriert sind. Ein wunderschöner Anblick, den leider auch die Filmindustrie und danach der Tourismus entdeckt hat. Hier wurde der James-Bond-Klassiker „Der Mann mit dem goldenen Colt“ gedreht, der noch heute tausende Touristen pro Tag anlockt. Alle werden mit Booten auf die kleine Insel gebracht, die voll mit Verkaufsständen ist. Ein absurder Anblick, wenn man sich eigentlich im Paradies befindet.

Ko Similan wurde 2004 vom Tsunami stark getroffen

Die letzte Insel, die wir auf der Reise anlaufen, ist Ko Similan, die zum Meeres-Nationalpark Mu Ko Similan gehört. Die Inselgruppe war bis in die 80er Jahre unbewohnt. Er als der Tourismus die Region stärker in den Fokus rückte, kamen zuerst die Fischer und dann die Touristen. Beides führte dazu, dass die zahlreichen Korallenriffe so stark beschädigt oder zerstört wurden, dass die thailändische Regierung 1982 einen Nationalpark daraus machte. So wurde Fischen um die Inseln verboten und der Park von Mai bis Oktober geschlossen hat. 2004 wurden viele Riffe der Inselgruppe vom Tsunami zerstört.

Star Clipper - Andaman Sea
Klein aber fein! Der Strand von Ko Similan ist sehr paradiesisch, wenn die meisten Touristen die Insel verlassen haben. (Foto: яна винникова )

Wer nach Ko Similan will, sollte möglichst früh auf die Insel gehen, denn ab 11 Uhr fahren einige Speedboote die Insel an, die vor allem mit zahlreichen asiatischen Urlaubern gefüllt sind und den relativ kleinen Strandabschnitt schnell überfüllt wirken lassen. Ab 14.30 Uhr nimmt das rege Treiben am Strand langsam wieder ab und gegen 15 Uhr hat man den Strand dann für sich alleine. Um 17.30 Uhr sammelt das letzte Tender-Boot die Gäste ein und fährt zurück zum Schiff, auf dem sich die meisten Passagiere schon gedanklich auf die Abreise am nächsten Morgen einstellen. Eine Woche Andaman Sea geht zu Ende. Und damit eine Woche pure Erholung, weitestgehendst im Paradies und auf einem traumhaften Schiff.

Weitere Infos zur Reise mit der Star Clipper

Die Reise „Südostasien / südliche Route“ mit der Star Clipper startet in Phuket. Die Anreise nach Phuket erfolgt z.B. über Bangkok mit Thai Airways oder Lufthansa. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Webseite von Star Clippers.


Hinweis in eigener Sache: Die Reise für diesen Beitrag wurde zum Teil unterstützt von Veranstaltern, Hotels, Fluglinien und/oder Tourismus-Agenturen. Wir legen sehr großen Wert auf eine unabhängige und neutrale Berichterstattung, daher sind die Meinungen, Eindrücke und Erfahrungen der jeweiligen Autoren ihre eigenen.
Jörg Baldinhttps://www.baldin.eu/
Jörg Baldin ist der Gründer und Chefredakteur von breitengrad53.de. 2011 hat er seine Leidenschaft zum Beruf gemacht und dieses Reisemagazin zum ersten Mal online gestellt. Jörg ist als Weltenbummler überall in der Welt zu Hause und liebt die Natur, das Meer und schöne Sonnenuntergänge am Strand.

Neueste Artikel

Ähnliche Artikel