Mittwoch, Mai 24, 2023

Article from

Torben Knye

Experience Havila Castor: Cruise redefined with Havila Kystruten

Slowly, early in the morning, the Havila Castor pushes unerringly to the quay wall of the nondescript harbor - in some place along the breathtaking Norwegian coast. It's so small and plain that I don't even remember the name of the dock. But the scenery that unfolds before my eyes as I blink sleepily out my cabin window is unforgettable and impressive.

A journey to the southernmost point of Scandinavia

When Jules Verne's characters in the book "Journey to the Center of the Earth" reach the center of the earth, a fantastic world opens up to them. We experienced something very similar, but different (in Thailand they say "same, same but different"), during our summer family vacation in Lolland-Falster, Denmark. The offer in this beautiful part of Denmark of both exciting and relaxing leisure activities is huge. Too big to pack into so little vacation (one week). So much is spoiled: We will be back!

"Tourism has a very positive function in many places"

The consequences of climate change will not stop at the travel industry. If there is not a radical change in the way we deal with the "resource earth" soon, many travel destinations will no longer exist in the future. It is already so hot in the summer in Sicily that normal everyday life is hardly possible. Storm surges and floods are increasing in frequency. Forecasts say that many major cities like Hamburg could be "swallowed up" by the sea in as little as 80 years. 

Dragons, sheep and a lugworm

In front of us the North Sea coast beach. The wind whistles around our ears. It's so loud that we can barely hear what the person next to us is shouting just a few meters away. The next stiff breeze pushes and pulls at us. The children whoop with happiness. Perfect weather for their new hobby: flying kites. Giving a bit of line, now bracing against it again. Turning in with the body when the wind direction changes. It doesn't take long for Mads (7) and Leonard (4) to become real kite tamers. That alone made the vacation on the North Sea coast worthwhile.
- Advertisement -view

"One human lifetime is not enough to know this planet".

Almost exactly one year ago to the day, Captain Kjell Holm, the first captain of TUI Cruises, retired. The likeable Finn has shaped and helped develop the Mein Schiff fleet like no other captain. He went to sea for a good 55 years. Around 10 of them for TUI Cruises. Whether with guests or crew - he was equally popular with everyone.

Hamburg from above - a different view of the Hanseatic city

The view of the world from above is not a natural perspective for us humans. And maybe that's why these sights fascinate us so much and draw us in. Even though I don't find great heights particularly pleasant, I always look for the highest point I can find when I travel. The World Trade Center in New York, the Bitexco Financial Tower in Saigon, the cliffs of Niagara Falls or the Grand Canyon Skywalk are just a few heights I have "climbed". Only then does a place really open up to me.

On the way to the south of France

It's been a few years since my last road trip. To be exact, a good 15 years. Back then, I took the chance to discover Australia during my studies abroad in New Zealand. For about five weeks, the three of us drove in a small van through Downunder - from Melbourne to Cairns along the Australian east coast. About 4000 kilometers. So when I told my wife about it and suggested a road trip through half of Western Europe, she wasn't averse. The only question was whether it was really something for us and how it would work with two children aged two and five.

Interview: Olivia Jones travels basically as Oliver

Olivia Jones (49) is Germany's best-known "cult tranny". The Hamburg native takes tourists on celebrity tours of St. Pauli, organizes party harbor and city tours, and runs a pop bar on the Grosse Freiheit, a show club with burlesque, travesty and comedy acts, and Germany's first men's strip club, to which only women have access.
- Advertisement -view

A round through the port of Hamburg

Hamburg is always worth a trip. This is even more true for me since we moved with the family into our own house in the direction of Lübeck. You can get me out of Hamburg, but you can't get Hamburg out of me. That's why my wife and I have firmly resolved to make short flying visits to the most beautiful city in the world from time to time. Just for us. Without children.

Interview with Elton - "In Nepal I experienced zero stress".

Elton (real name Alexander Duszat) is one of the best-known entertainers in the German-speaking world. Whether young or old - everyone knows him. As Pro7's all-purpose weapon, it's hard to imagine the private station's programming without him. From Stefan Raab's show trainee, he has now evolved into his legitimate successor.

Interview with star chef Johan Lafer: "My curiosity drives me!"

Johann Lafer is always on the move. Today in Hamburg for the production of a TV show, tomorrow in his restaurant Stromburg and the day after tomorrow on a plane to discover new places and culinary highlights for his magazine "Lafer". Traveling is part of everyday life for the top chef. From time to time, he also travels as a guest chef on a cruise ship.

Alster or Elbe? A question of faith in Hamburg

Elbe or Alster? What sounds so mundane mutates for many Hamburgers into a real question of...
- Advertisement -view

Artikel von

Torben Knye

„Der Tourismus hat an vielen Stellen eine sehr positive Funktion“

Die Folgen des Klimawandels werden auch vor der Reisebranche nicht halt machen. Sollte nicht bald ein radikaler Wandel im Umgang mit der „Ressource Erde“ stattfinden, gibt es in Zukunft viele Reiseziele nicht mehr. Schon jetzt ist es im Sommer in Sizilien so heiß, dass ein normaler Alltag kaum möglich ist. Sturmfluten und Überschwemmungen steigen in Ihrer Häufigkeit. Prognosen sagen, dass viele Großstädte wie Hamburg schon in 80 Jahren vom Meer „verschluckt“ sein könnten. 

Drachen, Schafe und ein Wattwurm

Vor uns der Nordseeküsten-Strand. Der Wind pfeift uns um die Ohren. So laut, dass wir kaum hören können, was uns unser Nebenmann nur wenige Meter weiter zuruft. Die nächste steife Brise drückt und zieht an uns. Die Kinder juchzen vor Glück. Perfektes Wetter für ihr neues Hobby: Drachensteigen lassen. Ein bisschen Leine geben, jetzt wieder gegenstemmen. Sich mit dem Körper eindrehen, wenn die Windrichtung wechselt. Es dauert nicht lang, bis Mads (7) und Leonard (4) richtige Drachenbändiger sind. Allein schon deswegen hat sich der Urlaub an der Nordseeküste gelohnt.

„Ein menschliches Leben reicht nicht aus, um diesen Planeten kennen zu lernen“

Fast auf den Tag genau vor einem Jahr wurde mit Kapitän Kjell Holm, der erste Kapitän von TUI Cruises, in den Ruhestand verabschiedet. Wie kein anderer Kapitän hat der sympathische Finne die Mein Schiff Flotte geprägt und mitentwickelt. Gut 55 Jahre fuhr er zur See. Rund 10 davon für TUI Cruises. Ob bei Gästen oder Crew – bei allen war er gleichermaßen beliebt.

Hamburg von oben – ein anderer Blick auf die Hansestadt

Der Blick von oben auf die Welt ist keine natürliche Perspektive für uns Menschen. Und vielleicht faszinieren uns diese Anblicke gerade deshalb so sehr und ziehen uns in ihren Bann. Auch wenn ich große Höhen nicht besonders angenehm empfinde, so suche ich auf Reisen doch immer den höchsten Punkt, den ich finden kann. Das World Trade Center in New York, der Bitexco Financial Tower in Saigon, die Klippen der Niagara Fälle oder der Grand Canyon Skywalk sind nur einige Höhen, die ich „erklimmt“ habe. Erst dann eröffnet sich mir ein Ort erst richtig.

Unterwegs nach Südfrankreich

Mein letzter Roadtrip ist schon einige Jahre her. Um genau zu sein, gut 15 Jahre. Damals nutzte ich die Chance während meines Auslandsstudiums in Neuseeland auch Australien zu entdecken. Gut fünf Wochen ging es zu dritt in einem kleinen Bulli durch Downunder – von Melbourne bis nach Cairns die australische Ostküste entlang. Rund 4000 Kilometer. Als ich meiner Frau also davon erzählte und einen Roadtrip durch halb Westeuropa vorschlug, war sie nicht abgeneigt. Die Frage war nur, ob das wirklich etwas für uns ist und wie es mit zwei Kindern im Alter von zwei und fünf Jahren funktioniert.

Im Interview: Olivia Jones reist grundsätzlich als Oliver

Olivia Jones (49) ist Deutschlands bekannteste „Kult-Transe“. Die Hamburgerin führt mit Promi-Kieztouren Touristen durch St. Pauli, veranstaltet Party-Hafen- und Stadtrundfahrten und betreibt auf der Großen Freiheit eine Schlager-Bar, einen Show-Club mit Burlesque-, Travestie- und Comedy-Acts und Deutschlands ersten Menstrip-Club, zu dem nur Frauen Zutritt haben.

Eine Runde durch den Hamburger Hafen

Hamburg ist immer eine Reise wert. Das gilt für mich noch mehr seit wir mit der Familie ins eigene Haus Richtung Lübeck gezogen sind. Du kriegst mich zwar aus Hamburg raus, aber Hamburg eben nicht aus mir. Deswegen haben meine Frau und ich uns fest vorgenommen, von Zeit zu Zeit kurze Stippvisiten in der schönsten Stadt der Welt einzulegen. Nur für uns. Ohne Kinder.

Interview mit Elton – „In Nepal habe ich null Stress erlebt“

Elton (bürgerlich Alexander Duszat) ist einer der bekanntesten Entertainer im deutschsprachigen Raum. Ob jung oder alt – jeder kennt ihn. Als Pro7-Allzweckwaffe ist er im Programm des Privatsenders nicht mehr wegzudenken. Von Stefan Raabs Showpraktikant hat er sich mittlerweile zu seinem legitimen Nachfolger weiterentwickelt.

Interview mit Sternekoch Johan Lafer: „Meine Neugier treibt mich an!“

Johann Lafer ist immer auf Achse. Heute in Hamburg zur Produktion einer TV Sendung, morgen in seinem Restaurant Stromburg und übermorgen im Flieger, um für sein Magazin "Lafer" neue Orte und kulinarische Highlights zu entdecken. Reisen gehört für den Spitzenkoch zum Alltag. Von Zeit zu Zeit ist er auch als Gastkoch auf einem Kreuzfahrtschiff unterwegs.

Alster oder Elbe? Eine Hamburger Glaubensfrage

Elbe oder Alster? Was sich so profan anhört, mutiert für viele Hamburger zu einer echten Frage der...
WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner